RSS

Friday 56: Metal Magic

11 Oct

The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda’s Voice. Here’s the rules:

*Grab a book, any book. Don’t grab your FAVOURITE book, but whatever is closest.

*Turn to page 56.

*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.

*Post it.

Title: MetalMagic: Talisman

Author: Derek Donais

Wheatmark (Sept. 15 2010)

“I’ve been up this way many times,” she told them. “They’re like my second home. My father used to bring me up here when he made his trapping runs. Then I just started going on my own.”

“Weren’t you scared?” asked Jaren.

“Of what?” Iselle replied, raising a quizzical eyebrow.

“Didn’t Jaren tell you?” interjected Morgaine, “He’s afraid of racoons.”

I hope you have a great weekend. Leave a comment below sharing any plans that you have for the weekend or what book you plan to curl up with.

Happy Thanksgiving to all the Canadian readers out there!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2013 in Friday 56

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Friday 56: Metal Magic

  1. Sandra Nachlinger

    October 11, 2013 at 9:25 AM

    You chose a good excerpt. I’m curious about where they are and want to know more.
    My post today features FLY OR FALL.

     
    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 11, 2013 at 10:32 AM

      Thanks 🙂

      I’m hoping to read the rest of it soon. Especially when there is a second book in the series coming out soon.

       
  2. laurelrainsnow

    October 11, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    Yes, I too am wondering about the setting…thanks for sharing….and for visiting my blog.

     
    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 11, 2013 at 12:12 PM

      You’re welcome and thanks for visiting my blog as well 🙂

       
  3. Hilary - Dangled Carat

    October 11, 2013 at 1:15 PM

    I am curious as to where they are too – but also who they are!

     
  4. fredamans

    October 11, 2013 at 5:54 PM

    Racoons can be scary I suppose. Though it made me laugh at the thought…

    Happy Thanksgiving weekend! I hope you eat lots of turkey!!

     
    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 12, 2013 at 10:37 AM

      Yeah, the idea of raccoon being scary made me laugh too. Though maybe this world’s raccoon are different then ours. I don’t know

      Oh I’ll get to eat lots of turkey, ham, and other yummy goodies over two days 😀

       
  5. smhelland

    October 13, 2013 at 9:58 PM

    Hahaha the last sentence made me laugh! And happy Thanksgiving, hope you’re having a good one!

     

Comment

 
