Waiting on Wednesday: Cress

16 Oct

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:


By: Marissa Meyer

Release Date: February 4, 2014

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Blurb: (From Author’s Website)

In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker – unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

The Why:

The third book in the series, we continue the adventure with Cinder and Scarlet while being introduced to Cress, who we got a glimpse of earlier. I love the idea of making her a hacker, it speaks to the techno-nerd in me. I also appreciate it because it reaches out to another type of young girls, those who are computer savvy. I really enjoyed reading about the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf in Scarlet, so I look forward to seeing it continue in this one.

Where to Buy:

Amazon Canada

Book Depository

What are you waiting on? Please link me up to yours. I’d love to see your picks!


Posted by on October 16, 2013 in Waiting on Wednesday


Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: Cress

  1. dragana5kovic

    October 16, 2013 at 9:17 AM

    Yes I adore this series and can’t wait for Cress. I loved Scarlet and Wolf even more than Kai and Cinder.🙂 Awesome pick!
    Thanks for stopping by my WOW.

    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 16, 2013 at 10:19 AM

      Me too!! I suspect I love Scarlet and Wolf more since Wolf is much more of a rounded character then Kai.

      Thanks for coming by though and leaving a comment🙂

  2. swept away by books

    October 16, 2013 at 9:28 AM

    Oh man, yes! I am so so excited for Cress. This series is so original and creative. And the Cress cover is the prettiest of them all too🙂

    Great choice and thanks for stopping by Swept Away By Books!

    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 16, 2013 at 10:20 AM

      I’m curious to see what Winter’s cover is going to look like. You should check out the foreign edition covers for this series. Some of them are so pretty!!!

      Thanks for coming by though and leaving a comment🙂

  3. Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea

    October 16, 2013 at 10:42 AM

    I need to start this series! I have the first two books, I just need to read them. I am looking forward to Cress as I have heard brilliant things about it, plus I love the cover for it. Great pick!

    Thanks for stopping by my post🙂

    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 16, 2013 at 11:04 AM

      I found that as soon as I started reading Cinder, I just *had* to read Scarlet, So just sit down and read Cinder. Scarlet will just come naturally after that.

      Thanks for coming by though and leaving a comment🙂

  4. The Quiet Girl Talks

    October 16, 2013 at 3:32 PM

    Great pick! I’ve heard soo many great things about this series, but I’ve been waiting for them all to come out before I start it.

    Thanks for stopping by The Quiet Girl Talks🙂

    • Cookie Book Lover

      October 16, 2013 at 3:36 PM

      You might be waiting for awhile since Winter will be coming out in 2015. And there *could* be more after that (You never know these things). I’d suggest a reading marathon of Gliches (side story) – Cinder – Scarlet – The Queen’s Army (A side story to Scarlet but having read it FIRST, I think it should be read after) once Cress comes out.There could even be a Cress side story too🙂

      Thanks for coming by though and leaving a comment🙂

  5. sahelland

    October 16, 2013 at 5:22 PM

    So it’s a spin on Rapunzel? That sounds really cool! I love the idea of her being in a satellite instead of a tower!

    • Cookie

      October 16, 2013 at 6:40 PM

      Yes, Cress is the name of Rapunzel in this series. Winter is the name of Snow White.

      She’s definitely refreshing the classic characters and trademarks for her readers🙂

  6. Jahzeiah @ Mermaed Books

    October 17, 2013 at 3:29 AM

    I am super excited for this book too!!!!! I am super techno-nerd as well so I think I may relate to Cress the most!!! It’s such an interesting twist though….instead of a high castle, she’s stuck doing hacking work…..what are the chances huh??? I can’t wait to see what awaits the rest of the couples as well :3

    Thanks for stopping by!!! I love your blogMy FF :3
    Jahzeiah @ Mermaed Books



