RSS

Canvember 2013: Simply Sunday

03 Nov

I’m going to start off with Canvember with this quote from by Canadian author Margaret Atwood.

Simply Sunday is a reading meme run over at Books For A Delicate Eternity. It’s where you can share your favourite quote of the week; be it from a book, a novella, a short story, a poem, a song – whatever you like!

Quote: Source

If I pick up a book with vampires on the cover, I want there to be vampires. If I pick up a book with spaceships on the cover, I want spaceships. If I see one with dragons, I want there to be dragons inside the book. Proper labeling. Ethical labeling. I don’t want to open up my cornflakes and find that they’re full of pebbles….You need to respect the reader enough not to call it something it isn’t.

~Margaret Atwood

Reason:

The quote comes out of an interview where Margaret is asked about why the need for defining science fiction, setting up boundaries between science fiction and other genres such as fantasy and speculative fiction. While I may disagree with what she thinks science fiction is (especially when she says Star Trek is not likely to happen), I think she does have a point about the importance of having your cover match what your story is about. There is nothing worse then reading a book with a great cover that has nothing to do with what the book itself is actually about OR passing up a book with a great story because the cover does not match and turns you away.

Example: Classic novel with a cover that I know has NOTHING to do with the book and there is not a scene where this happens.

Thanks for coming by and I hope you stick around for the rest of Canvember 2013!!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2013 in Canvember

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Canvember 2013: Simply Sunday

  1. Chiara @ books for a delicate eternity

    November 4, 2013 at 3:09 PM

    I definitely agree with this quote; great choice!
    I do so get annoyed when I finish a book, take a look at the cover, and realise that is has absolutely nothing to do with the story I just read. I wonder why publishers would do that.
    And I love your example. A lot of classics have covers that have no meaning whatsoever, they are just classic paintings to go with a classic book.
    Thank you for participating in Simply Sunday 😀

     
    • Cookie

      November 4, 2013 at 4:12 PM

      Yeah I felt it was a good quote that everyone could relate to, regardless of what kind of books they like to read. I wanted to find a good example of a misleading cover and I couldn’t remember any specific ones so I did a quick Google search and found that one.
      Thank you for visiting and commenting on my post 🙂

       
  2. sahelland

    November 9, 2013 at 10:53 PM

    Star Trek won’t happen? ;_; You broke my heart, Margaret Atwood!

     

Comment

 
