RSS

Waiting on Wednesday: Princess Bride Memoir

04 Dec

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

As You Wish: Tales From the Princess Bride

By Cary Elwes & Joe Layden

Release date: Fall of 2014

Publisher: Touchstone

.

.

Clearly not the cover of the book but with it just being announced, it is somewhat to be expected that it doesn’t have a cover yet. Or a blurb. But come ON!!! Princess Bride is a wonderful movie (and book too) and hearing that Cary is writing a memoir for it just makes me giggle with glee.

In the book, Cary will recall behind-the-scenes memories of the making of the hit through interviews with cast members, including Billy Crystal, Robin Wright, Carol Kane, Christopher Guest, Chris Sarandon and writer William Goldman. Director Rob Reiner is contributing the book’s foreword. I am personally looking forward to read about everyone’s experience working André the Giant, who passed away in his sleep on January 27 1993 at the age of 46 as a result of congestive heart failure.

I can already say that this will be a MUST buy for any Princess Bride fans, I eagerly await the release of the cover and a more exact release date.

Wait. You haven’t watched Princess Bride? YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK?! You have plenty of time between now and then to get caught up with the rest of us and watch the 1987 film and 1973 book. Trust me, I just saw a wonderful new hardcover edition of the book at the bookstore this week. It is still in print folks after all this time.

So what are you looking forward to?? Let me know in the comments below.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2013 in Meme, Waiting on Wednesday

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: Princess Bride Memoir

  1. Nikki

    December 4, 2013 at 1:59 PM

    This sounds awesome for die-hard Princess Bride fans. I love the movie and the book, but have never been one for behind-the-scenes kind of books, unfortunately. I hope you like it though!

     
    • Cookie

      December 4, 2013 at 3:49 PM

      I’m picky about what behind-the-scene books I buy. It usually has to be a movie/tv show/game I have a strong emotional tie to them. I love Star Wars and Trek, but I don’t have any of those BTS books (mostly cause there are so MANY) because I don’t have an emotional tie to it. The movie I feel in love with when I got it from my cousin because she didn’t want it, so that’s where my tie to the book starts. That and Andre the Giant 😀

      Thanks for visiting my blog & commenting

       
  2. Patty

    December 4, 2013 at 8:56 PM

    I think I watched this movie years ago. I remember enjoying it but not much else! Maybe it’s time for a re-watch? Hopefully you enjoy this book.
    Thanks for stopping by my WOW

     
  3. choijeneul

    December 5, 2013 at 7:44 AM

    I’ve been meaning to read and watch The Princess Bride for such a long time because I’ve heard nothing but great things about it. Some time soon, hopefully! Great pick!

    Thanks for dropping by my WoW post 😀

    – Kazhy @ My Library in the Making

     
    • Cookie

      December 5, 2013 at 8:23 PM

      It is definitely something to read and watch! I’ve always seen the book available at my book store and the movie is usually in the 2/10 (or whatever) section. I would suggest watching the movie first, then reading the book.

      Thanks for coming by & commenting on my blog 🙂

       

Comment

 
