RSS

Thursday 13: Books I need to Read in 2014

02 Jan

Thursday Thirteen is a weekly meme with a simple theme: each Thursday you blog a list of 13 things. What kind of things? Any kind! Just come up with a list theme and run with it.

So instead of doing a list of what I want to read in this new year, I thought I would take a look at the books that I do have but for whatever reason, I have not read yet. Some of these books I got recently while others I have had for longer. The list is not in any particular order.

13 Books I Need to Read in 2014

Requirement for this list:I must already own you and/or have currently borrowed you from the library. Books that I am waiting to get in the mail do not count.

  1. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
  2. Book 2/3/4 in Dwaves saga by Markus Heitz
  3. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green
  4. Paper Towns & An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
  5. Old Boy by Garon Tsuchiya
  6. Dark Water by Koji Suzuki
  7. Tales of Genji by Murasaki Shikibu
  8. Watership Down by Richard Adams
  9. Hollow Earth by John and Carole Barrowman
  10. The Legend of Zelda: I Link Therefore I am by Luke Cuddy
  11. Doctor Who and Philosophy: Bigger on the Inside by Courtland Lewis and Paula Smithka
  12. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher
  13. Sailor Moon volume 8-12 by Naoko Takeuchi

What do you think of my list? Any surprises for people? Are any of my books on this list books you have but have not read yet as well? Let me know in the comments below.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2014 in Meme, Thursday 13

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Thursday 13: Books I need to Read in 2014

  1. Norma

    January 2, 2014 at 9:01 AM

    I’m only familiar with a few, but I do love to read. Right now reading about Margaret Thatcher. Good TT topic. http://collectingmythoughts.blogspot.com/2014/01/thursday-thirteena-list-of-wonderful.html

     
    • Cookie

      January 2, 2014 at 11:27 AM

      I just have so many books and with it being a start of a new year, I thought it would be better to look at what I should read (because I already own it) then what I want to read. Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

       
  2. Sidne

    January 2, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    I do hope you devour the list before others are added. lol.

     
    • Cookie

      January 2, 2014 at 11:34 AM

      Lol these are just books I already have and feel I should read. There are definitely going to be other books I will be reading this year, no worries about that.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

       
  3. Emma (@FunkyFairy22)

    January 2, 2014 at 1:46 PM

    Oh man I really should have done this for my T13. I need to come up with a list of books that I’ve got but not read and then stop buying any more until I’ve read them. It’d have to be a partial list because I think between books and kindle books I’ve bought and free stuff I’ve downloaded my unread pile numbers over 100. Maybe next week?! As for your list I can’t comment too much on the books as I’ve not read many but I love John Green and I think Paper Towns was one of this best.

     
    • Cookie

      January 2, 2014 at 10:08 PM

      My list is just a list of things I have that I need to read. I’m not putting a book ban on myself lol. I may unload some of my books that I have read/finished/don’t like this year but there is no book ban in place. You can always do this for next weeks T13!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

       
  4. afitme

    January 2, 2014 at 4:19 PM

    I hope you get your reading done. More reading is on my list for 2014. Of these books I have only heard of Watership Down, but it looks like you like fantasy. Good genre.

     
    • Cookie

      January 2, 2014 at 10:05 PM

      Oh yes, scifi and fantasy are my favourite genres. Just so much depth and variety for different worlds and ideas to come out of that just draws me in.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

       
  5. Mary Quast (@MaryQuast)

    January 2, 2014 at 6:09 PM

    I love having a To Be Read Pile. Sometimes I save certain ones for those times I can curl up with a glass of wine for some uninterrupted time to myself. I preordered some books and when they arrived it was like another Christmas gift.

     
    • Cookie

      January 2, 2014 at 10:03 PM

      I don’t really have a “To Be Read” pile. I just have books I have read and books I haven’t read. Having piles is just wayyyyy to organized for me lol. People even have TBR shelves, which blows my mind.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

       
  6. Shawna {The Blue Muse}

    January 2, 2014 at 9:48 PM

    Wow, I haven’t heard of any of these titles, but I’m intrigued. Thanks for new ones to add to my library list! Happy new year!

     
    • Cookie

      January 2, 2014 at 10:00 PM

      Only 10/11 are none-fiction books. Last couple of years in uni I focused on a lot of pop culture studies so those were a must for me to have. Just another deeper jump into the rabbit hole for stuff I loves.

      I’m glad you were able to discover new titles to try out!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

       
  7. Dena Celeste

    January 4, 2014 at 3:37 PM

    I have GOT to read 11 and 13. 11 because I’m Whovian. 13 because, well, Sailor Moon! Though sadly I don’t own them, I now have books to put on my wish list.

     
    • Cookie

      January 4, 2014 at 3:43 PM

      The nice thing about the series is that you only need to buy the 2 box sets and the 2 short story volumes. Then you will be nice and ready for the new anime that is coming out sometime this winter (so they say)

       
      • Dena Celeste

        January 4, 2014 at 4:24 PM

        There’s a new anime coming out this winter?! I guess I’ve been hiding under a rock somewhere. That’s awesome though!

         
        • Cookie

          January 4, 2014 at 4:33 PM

          :O YES!! Omg, yes! Look through here to see what you have been missing! Last year was the anniversary for the anime in Japan and there has been TONS of new merch coming out. OMG THE MERCH!! New gorgeous figurines for each of the inner senshi are coming out. New merch announcement causes bank accounts to quake with fear lol

          Also there is going to be new art books coming out as well at some point. Seriously, where have you been hiding?!

           
  8. Dena Celeste

    January 4, 2014 at 5:55 PM

    Sadly, my day job. Plus writing. And a move. It’s been kinda crazy for about a year, and I haven’t been able to keep up with everything. *shamefaced*

     
    • Cookie

      January 5, 2014 at 7:37 PM

      *hugs* It’s okay. RL bites us always at the worst of times

       
  9. Heather L

    January 8, 2014 at 11:15 PM

    I’ve only heard of two of these. I saw the Shakespeare/Star Wars at B&N a couple months ago, and it looks hilarious. I’ve also wanted to read Watership Down for some time now, but have yet to find a copy at Half Price Books or the library book sale. Maybe this year…

     

Comment

 
