RSS

Thursday 13: TV Shows & Movies 2014

09 Jan

Thursday Thirteen is a weekly meme with a simple theme: each Thursday you blog a list of 13 things. What kind of things? Any kind! Just come up with a list theme and run with it.

I thought I would do a similar list to by Books I need to Read in 2013, but with TV Shows and Movies. This one feels a bit more embarrassing given how many big name shows are on the list that I have not watched. Again, this list is in no particular order.

13 TV Shows I need to Watch in 2014

Requirement: Shows must already have aired or in the process of airing that I am already not watching.

  1. Veronica Mars
  2. Sherlock BBC
  3. Game of Thrones
  4. Once Upon A Time & Once Upon A Time in Wonderland
  5. Downtown Abbey
  6. Atlantis BBC
  7. Orphan Black (technically I have seen a couple of the episodes but I stopped watching it)
  8. Grimm
  9. Broadchurch
  10. Breaking Bad
  11. Vikings
  12. Sleepy Hollow
  13. Hannibal

13 Movies I need to watch in 2014

Rules:
– Movies have to already been at least released in theatres
– I have not watched it already
– Again, not in any particular order

  1. My Neighbour Totoro: I am growing a collection of Totoro plushies and accessories from friends overseas. I feel fake for having them without having seen the movie.
  2. Keep of the Mountains: Now this one will confuse people who know me since this is outside of my normal genre of movie watching. This documentary is about Elizabeth Hawley, now 90, who has been recognized as the foremost Himalayan mountaineering historian in the world through her detailed recording of more than 80,000 Himalayan expedition ascents. Her reports are seen as the world’s largest and most treasured Himalayan mountaineering archive and are trusted by news organizations and publications around the globe. All this despite never climbing a mountain, because in her own words “Why would I want to? I am a city girl.” While I am not a mountain climbing enthusiast, I do have a soft spot for stories about old birds who have done the impossible. I came across this film when the Banff Mountain Film Festival World Tour made a stop in Kelowna in December and showed an edited version of the film.
  3. Elysium: No special reason. Just looks like a good movie that I would enjoy.
  4. 50/50: Loving Joseph Gordon-Levitt back since his days on 3rd Rock from the Sun and I am happy to see him taking off on the big screen. If you need to know why I love this man so much, watch is Lip Sync Battle with Jimmy Kimmel and Stephen Merchant… That and his duet with Lady Gaga singing ‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’.
  5. Looper: See my love for Joseph Gordon-Levitt plus Bruce Willis is in it. Concept for the movie looks really interesting as well.
  6. The following Studio Ghibli movies: The Tale of Princess Kaguya, The Wind Rises, From Up on Poppy Hill, Tales from Earthsea, and The Borrower Arrietty. I haven’t seen all of Studio Ghibli’s work but these are the ones I want to see for myself.
  7. The Truth about Nanjing: Only because the notion “that the Nanjing Massacre was a politically motivated frame-up by China and the numerous Western eyewitnesses” (as claimed by the director) is on the same level of people who deny the Holocaust ever happening. And I want to see what this crazy idiot really believes happened in that time period.
  8. Up: Yup, haven’t seen it. Feel like I should fix that at some point
  9. District 9: Again, yup haven’t seen it, despite owning the movie. Feel like I should fix this.
  10. Pan’s Labyrinth: See comments on Up & insert here.
  11. Oz the Great and Powerful: Haven’t seen it but always thought it looked great based on the trailers. I realize this is problematic thing to do, base a movie on its trailer but I feel relatively safe doing it with this one.
  12. Geography Club: Heard good things about this, want to check it out for myself
  13. Riddick: Yes this will probably suck but I enjoy the series, and love seeing Karl Urban at work.

See anything that you have not seen as well? See any recommendations for shows or movies I need to watch based off this one? Let me know in the comments below!

 
19 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Meme, Thursday 13

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Thursday 13: TV Shows & Movies 2014

  1. jennifer

    January 9, 2014 at 1:10 AM

    i never watch movies till they are old

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:41 PM

      Many of the movies aren’t recent and have been out on DVD for some time.

      Thanks for commenting & visiting 😀

       
  2. sandy

    January 9, 2014 at 4:46 AM

    do you already watch the Good Wife??

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:24 PM

      No, I don’t watch that particular series. It doesn’t seem to appeal to me

       
  3. Karen

    January 9, 2014 at 6:29 AM

    loved Breaking Bad and Orphan Black!

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:41 PM

      I’ve heard nothing but raving reviews about Breaking Bad and since Orphan Black is a Canadian program, I feel like I’m a bad Canadian for not watching it ^^;;

       
  4. Mia Celeste

    January 9, 2014 at 7:00 AM

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:43 PM

      Thanks 🙂 I feel like I do have an interesting taste in entertainment 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and commenting

       
  5. CountryDew

    January 9, 2014 at 7:01 AM

    I thought I was the only person left on the planet who hasn’t watched Downton Abbey.

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:24 PM

      You are not alone! I haven’t watch it either!!

       
  6. Dena Celeste

    January 9, 2014 at 7:55 AM

    I’ve not seen Downton Abbey yet either. It’s another thing to add to my list, I suppose, after I get caught up on Dexter (on season 4 of 8), The Sopranos (on season 6 (p.1) of 6 (p. 2).), and Sherlock (2 eps in of 6 eps total on Netflix).

    But as for #10, Pan’s Labyrinth, it was FANTASTIC! I loved the story, the characters, and the sheer, cinematic awesomeness. It’s quite stunning.

    http://denaceleste.blogspot.com/2014/01/thursday-thirteen-13-writing-books-to.html

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:26 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one not watching Downtown Abbey 🙂 I haven’t watched Dexter or The Sopranos but have heard nothing but good things about the shows as a whole

       
  7. Heather L

    January 9, 2014 at 9:50 AM

    I’ve seen the first two seasons of “Thrones,” will likely watch S3 when a friend’s hubby gets it. I’d also like to see “Downtown Abbey” from the beginning, since I never even heard of it until after S1. I gave up on “Grimm” last spring when they changed nights for the last 3 or 4 eps — opposite another program I watch and was more interested in. I started watching “Sleepy Hollow” but have pretty much given up on that, too.

    As for movies… I haven’t heard of a lot of these, but “Up” is good, and I’d like to see “Oz” and “Elysium” as well.

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:39 PM

      Yeah it is annoying when TV shows are switched nights to when something else is on.

      Some of the movies are rather out of left field but Oz and Elysium do have very appealing trailers

       
  8. Stephanie Sullivan

    January 9, 2014 at 1:12 PM

    The only TV show I watch from that list is Downton Abbey. LOVE THAT SHOW! And I must not get out to the movies as often as I should because I don’t recognize any of those you listed except for Elysium. LOL. Happy Thursday!

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 1:29 PM

      Some of those movies aren’t ones that would make the theater circuit so don’t feel so bad. And there are so many movies that come out, it is hard to keep on top of them all.

      Happy Thursday!

       
  9. Writer In A Wheelchair

    January 9, 2014 at 2:48 PM

    I’ve not seen any of those films and the only one of those TV shows I’ve seen is Downton Abbey. I don’t know if I’d recommend it or not. I loved the first three series but I’m in the UK and the fourth series has just finished – it got pretty ridiculous in the middle and I stopped watching it (so it may well have redeemed itself, I don’t know).

     
    • Cookie

      January 9, 2014 at 2:56 PM

      Shows getting ridiculous is a familiar thing unfortunately. Others have stopped watching it as well for similar reasons but I still want to watch it for myself

      Thanks for visiting 🙂

       
  10. Shelley Munro

    January 9, 2014 at 7:51 PM

    I’m looking forward to watching Sleepy Hollow. It hasn’t made it down here to NZ next. You have lots of fun viewing ahead 🙂

     

Comment

 
